See how its done! ‘We Beat the All Blacks’ tonight on BBC One Wales at 10.35pm

Me proudly stood in front of the iconic  scoreboard

This weekend the mighty All Blacks come to the city and anyone who’s worried about the Welsh team’s prospects should fear not, because tonight you’ll get the chance to see how its done.

We haven’t beaten New Zealand in nearly sixty years but on a damp October afternoon in 1972, Llanelli RFC did just that – a victory which made history.

In a one hour special made by Green Bay Media for BBC Wales, players and fans look back and reminisce about the famous win and reveal why it has become such an important part of Welsh rugby history.

And who can forget Max Boyce’s famous song ‘9-3’? And that iconic last verse:
‘And when I grow old, my hair turns grey and they put me in a chair,
I’ll tell my great grandchildren that their Datcu was there.
And they’ll ask to hear the story of that dark October day,
When I went down to Stradey park and I saw the Scarlets play.’

So remember to tune in to BBC One Wales at 10.35 tonight to witness one of the great Welsh rugby moments.

One thought on “See how its done! ‘We Beat the All Blacks’ tonight on BBC One Wales at 10.35pm

  1. An excellent documentary. I was 15 years old on that day and even though I was n’t there the memory is alive. One of those moments, watching the telly with Dad, that will always be with me.

Leave a Reply

